Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
breehar_gw

Help for my gardenia!

breehar
11 years ago

This is my first time posting, but I couldn't find the answer anywhere. My husband bought a gardenia for me through 1-800-flowers about 18 months ago. I think it's a dwarf gardenia. I've kept it in the original pot, and when I water it I let the water drain out of the holes in the bottom before I put it back in the bigger decorative pot. I only use RO water because I read that tap water is bad for it, and we have REALLY hard water here. About once a month I fertilize it with Miracle-Gro for azaleas. It sits on a south-facing window sill, and it's very dry here, but we keep a whole-house humidifier going all the time. I mist the leaves with water about once a day, and I only water the plant when the top feels dry, about every 3 days. I never put it outside.

It has bloomed for me once, just a couple of blooms, but it has always seemed pretty healthy. Now, some of the leaves are turning yellow, which I've read can be bad or just normal. However, my leaves that are yellowing are still green around the edges, and that's the part that I don't understand. Is this normal or a sign of concern? I read that older leaves start yellowing around the edges first, but mine seems to be doing the opposite. Any suggestions?

Comments (26)

• tolip
    11 years ago

A picture would help.

But you might like to know that soil ph level for azaleas are a tad lower than that for gardenias. I don't use any special fert for my gardenias and they still grow beautiful.

I have an azalea seedling that's also growing on nothing special. Just normal fert.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago

Hi & welcome to Gardenweb!

"I read that older leaves start yellowing around the edges first, but mine seems to be doing the opposite." Have you repotted your plant since it's been with you? What you describe sounds like a decline in the health of the roots.