Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
moonwolf_gw

Which Honeysuckle?

moonwolf_gw
14 years ago

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I'm trying to decide on a honeysuckle that I want for the garden next year. I'm interested in purchasing from Brushwood Nursery. The three I like most are Belgica, Serotina Florida and Sweet Sue. I'm looking for fragrance, most importantly. It will go in a 15 inch pot and have an eastern exposure growing on the back steps. Does anybody out there grow any of these? I'm thinking of Sweet Sue since it has the longer blooming season and gets the largest of the three.

Brad AKA Moonwolf

Comments (7)

• User
    14 years ago

Moonwolf,
    You have to check to see if honeysuckle is hardy to zone 4 if you are keeping it in a pot over the winter.
    The pot rule is minus 2 zones for winter hardiness.
    Do you know what I mean?
    I don't know if honeysuckle is hardy down to zone 4.
    Mabey someone on here can tell you if it is, if they live in zone 4.
    Otherwise, plant the pot in the ground and mulch it over the winter. That way you won't have to worry.

• moonwolf_gw
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Hi Butterfly,

I looked at my choices and Brushwood lists them as being hardy to zone 4. Funny, I always thought it was container plants were minus 1 zone for winter hardiness. Oops!

I may have to plant it in the ground with or without the pot then. I'm in no hurry since spring's a long way off.

Thanks, Butterfly!

Brad AKA Moonwolf

• Ispahan Zone6a Chicago
    14 years ago

Among the choices you listed, 'Serotina Florida' would definitely be my top pick. It flowers all summer, has a compact growth habit and has good color and scent. It should do well in a large container.