Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kemistry_gw

the smell of spring

kemistry
12 years ago

This is my first time forcing paperwhite and my goodness.. it's so easy! :)

Here were the bulbs on 11.13.2011:

{{gwi:814543}}

A month later.. 12.11.2011

{{gwi:814545}}

And finally today:

{{gwi:814546}}

This is a type of paperwhite called Chinese sacred lily. It has a strong, sweet scent that reminds me of honey. Very pleasant! :)

Comments (11)

• Robert (zone 7a, Oklahoma)
    12 years ago

They look beautiful and of course now I want some just to experience the scent myself! ;)
    It looks like a fun and easy task to chase away the winter blues especially since they don't require any pre-chilling to bloom.
    Thanks for the lovely photos.

-Robert

• ymaddox
    12 years ago

looks like there is alot of perlite in your soil did you add extra?

• kemistry
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Hey ymaddox! :) I use about 30% perlite in my soil.. they tend to float to the top so that's why you see many of them there.

Robert -- it sure was easy to force these bulbs. Now I cannot wait to see how my hyacinth will do. : )

• ymaddox
    12 years ago

well they sure are happy was just curious for my own benefit and knowledge...do you do that will all your plants or just certain ones?

• kemistry
    Original Author
    12 years ago

May I point you to my favorite soil thread:
    http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/load/contain/msg0622171013552.html

The 5.1.1 soil recipe is what I use. (I actually use 5 parts bark fine and 2 parts perlite). It works great. The plants are especially happy if grown in clay pots. :)

• ymaddox
    12 years ago