Return to the Fragrant Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
the smell of spring

Posted by kemistry 8 - Oregon (My Page) on
Sat, Dec 17, 11 at 19:33

This is my first time forcing paperwhite and my goodness.. it's so easy! :)

Here were the bulbs on 11.13.2011:

A month later.. 12.11.2011

And finally today:

This is a type of paperwhite called Chinese sacred lily. It has a strong, sweet scent that reminds me of honey. Very pleasant! :)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: the smell of spring

They look beautiful and of course now I want some just to experience the scent myself! ;)
It looks like a fun and easy task to chase away the winter blues especially since they don't require any pre-chilling to bloom.
Thanks for the lovely photos.

-Robert

o

looks like there is alot of perlite in your soil did you add extra?

o

Hey ymaddox! :) I use about 30% perlite in my soil.. they tend to float to the top so that's why you see many of them there.

Robert -- it sure was easy to force these bulbs. Now I cannot wait to see how my hyacinth will do. : )

o

well they sure are happy was just curious for my own benefit and knowledge...do you do that will all your plants or just certain ones?

o

May I point you to my favorite soil thread:
http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/load/contain/msg0622171013552.html

The 5.1.1 soil recipe is what I use. (I actually use 5 parts bark fine and 2 parts perlite). It works great. The plants are especially happy if grown in clay pots. :)

o