Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pamela_grow

how to maintain a fuschia in Florida

pamela_grow
18 years ago

Hello!

This is my first time on the site, and I'm excited to have all the information provided here. My question...

I live in Central Florida and have just bought by third fuschia plant. I have tried twice in the past to grow this plant and failed both times. Both attempts have been in the summer. Can a fuschia survive in Florida's hot temps.? How do I judge whether I'm overwatering or underwatering, whether the plant is getting too much sunlight or too little. Thanks for your advice!

Comments (5)

• hazel_nc
    18 years ago

I have been trying for 50 years to grow fushias in North Carolina. I was raised in Washington State and I just love them. It is really hard to get them through the hot summer and they get the black spot. I have had some success. I planted one hardy variety in a shady place by the porch and it has come back for the third year. I keep my hanging baskets on the shady side where they get just the morning sun. They do take a lot of water, but don't let them stand in water or they will rot. When it gets in the high 80's, I'm going to take mine in the house during the hottest part of the day. That may be a lot of trouble, but I just can't stand for anything to die! Good luck!

• pamela_grow
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thank you hazel! I'll take your advice!

• clwilder
    17 years ago