Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunshine1151

Pinching Fuschias?

sunshine1151
18 years ago

I have bought to hanging baskets of fuschias.........my question is.....do they have to be pinched?........someone told me they should be............also how much water do they require?........... this is my first year with fuschias........any info would be great

Marlene

Comments (2)

• hld6
    18 years ago

As I've learned from hard experience (see sickly fuchsia thread) you have to be VERY careful watering them.

I mistakedly thought that a plant in a coco mat hanging planter couldn't be overwatered (i.e., no standing water - since it passes through the mat). So I diligently watered my fuchsia and petunias every day - until water passed through the mats in their hangers. My petunia LOVES this treatment and is doing great. But, this was very wrong for my two now (probably) dead fuchsia that I'm trying to bring back from the brink. The problem is that by the time an overwatered fuchsia shows symptons (dropping buds and limp leaves) it is too late to do much about it - the roots are gone.

With help from the forum (Thanks everybody!) - I am cautiously hopeful that my fuchsia killing days are over. :)

What I've learned is:
    Water enough to keep the fuchsia moist but don't let it be wet. BUT, they can't be allowed to dry out either. Right now with the cool weather my (new) fuchsia go a few days between waterings (and then in only small amounts). When it gets warmer outside and the hanging plants dry out faster I may have to water more often - possibly a couple times a day - but I'll still water in small amounts. It seems they need more water "snacks" rather than fewer "water meals".

My new regimen of small waterings when the soil is just barely moist but not dry seems to be working (knock on wood!). I have two new fuchsia that seem to be doing well.
    -Helen

• tightathome
    18 years ago

Hi Marlene