Return to the Fuchsia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Fuchsia Trees leafs turning to yellow

Posted by disco77 6b Canada (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 17, 04 at 16:54

HI, I am new to Garden Web and need your help.
I took pictures of my Fuchsia Trees so you can see the leafs
plus I have notes to my problem on this page if someone could
help me I would appreciate it, HELP, is my hubby over watering?
http://disco77.tripod.com/Gardening/fuchsia.html

thank you
Debbie
BC Canada

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Fuchsia Trees leafs turning to yellow

Great pics Debbie. I think it is a combination of a couple of things.
1) Place them out of the pm sun.
2) Water them in the mornings, don't give them a lot of water in late afternoons or evenings, you'll rot the roots. Keep them moist but not soaking wet.If the foliage has wiltered by late afternoon, just spray the foliage if possible with rain water.
3) Are you feeding them a balanced feed ie NPK 20-20-20, a quarter strength at every watering.
4) Try above for a 10/14 days, if you are still getting yellowing leaves, then it could also be a lack of magnesium. Feed once with a dose of Horticultural Epsom Salts. One level dessertspoon into 2 gallons water.
Let us know how you get on. - Kath:)

o

Hi Debbie
Got to set up a Website so I can post Pics like yours.
As soon as I saw them I thought 'stress'. It looks like the change in weather has taken it's tole on the plants. A little more shading would help and watch out for those hot drying winds. They are causing me a lot of problems this year. Kath gives great advice.
Good Luck,
IanS

o

Digital cameras are great and instant pictures.
Thank you so much for your suggestions!!