Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
momof3wildboys

What veggies can I plant in Feb?

momof3wildboys
14 years ago

I am limited on space and my "must haves" are things that have to be planted in April/May (tomatoes, peppers, squash, okra, beans), but I would like to plant a few things in Feb that will be done by mid-April. Can I plant lettuce, carrots & onions in Feb? When I research it, I get different info so any input is appreciated from those that are actually gardening in GA!

Comments (10)

• vroomp
    14 years ago

Anything that can live in ice.

• gt4889
    14 years ago

I'm only on my 3rd year veggie gardening so I'm no expert. But I don't think you'll be able to put anything in the ground in February. Surely no seeds will germinate. Best you can probably do is set out transplants in early to mid March. If you wanted to, you could start things like broccoli, lettuce, and greens indoors from seed Feb 1 to give you nice transplants for March 1.

• liliumskygazer
    14 years ago

You can plant sugar snap peas. They might be ready to be pulled up before the beans must be planted or you could seed the beans in at their feet.

• girlgroupgirl
    14 years ago

You can check out the winter sowing forum. If you make a very "tight" (lower to the ground, plastic very encapsulating) tent in a very sunny area you could get some crops going faster. My bed done up like this has had no frost damage at all because it's been able to hold the soil warmer even through the coldest days we've had. There is damage in all the less encapsulated and taller (more air space to cool off) larger tents.

I start seeds for veggies at the beginning to middle of March depending on what the weather is going to be doing. I just watch...

• mensplace
    14 years ago