Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anney_gw

Have you used Cobb County's Bioblend?

anney
16 years ago

Heavens! I should have found my way here before now since I'm a Georgia resident, but I've been posting in the general forums for a couple of years.

Anyway, I'm wondering about Bioblend, offered by the Cobb County Recycling Center. Several things.

First, when you go to get it, is it easy to put into containers and get it back to your vehicle? A long distance? Is it heavy? How does getting it from the recycling center back home work?

Second, I've read a kazillion articles about the standards for recycled organics like Bioblend, talked to the people there, etc., and am still wondering if it's safe to use in a vegetable garden. According to the literature, the Bioblend is treated to meet the highest standards, so it should be safe for growing foodstuff, but I thought I'd check beyond reading. What's your take on its safety?

I can certainly use it for flower beds, I know.

Somebody on another forum mentioned the way it smells. Is it offensive?

Comments (8)

• Sharon4457
    16 years ago

I found this information by doing a site search:

Here is a link that might be useful: More information

• anney
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you, Sharon. That information pretty much answers the questions I had.

I did call the Cobb County Bioblend center to find out if I could get it since I'm in Cherokee County, and they said it would be fine. They also said that the stuff is heavy after rain, so it's easier to load when it's been dry a few days.

Now, to get there. It's a bit of a drive but worth it.

• shot
    16 years ago

Hi Anney... nice to meet you. Let us know how the Bioblend works out. There use to be a mushroom plant near where I live and we would go up there and load up the pickup for just a few dollars. Was great for the garden.

Shot

• dirtjunky
    16 years ago