Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hunterjumper999

My first season in GA

hunterjumper999
15 years ago

Hello all!

Its my first time planting anything in GA and I'm planning on a big garden . My issue is the excess... I dont know anyone in the area as of yet and I dont know what to do with the extra produce.

Can someone show me the ropes of farmers markets in GA? do i need a permit? Reservation?

We're growing

Tomatoes, watermelon, Squash, Onions, Potatoes, Broccoli, Okra, Peppers, Pumpkins and spinach.

Comments (10)

• girlgroupgirl
    15 years ago

You will need to first master gardening in Georgia. I don't know where you gardened before, but I can tell you as a first time Southern gardener when I moved here, I had a LOT of challenges to cover come!
    There are farmers markets and you must contact each individual farmers market to find out how they operate. You will need to reserve a spot and pay for your booth at the farmers market. The link below will give you some information about our growing season and planting information if you need it. It will also tell you more about any guidelines you need to follow when selling produce or other goods at a Farmers Market.

http://www.caes.uga.edu/departments/

The Georgia Organics website is an excellent place to learn more about market growing in Georgia, they have some forums and bulletin boards. Their "The Dirt" magazine also has loads of information about selling your produce.

http://www.georgiaorganics.org/

• mad_gardener
    15 years ago

Gardening in Georgia is definitely hard! Good luck with all that clay soil! Yuck! Also, watch out for squash borers, squash bugs, cabbage moths, tobacco caterpillars, and pretty much every other bug out there!