Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rjinga

Desparate for Lilacs

rjinga
16 years ago

Does anyone know of any varieties that may have been adapted to our area? I would just LOVE to grow some. I know that this thread showed up a few years ago...and if any of you are still out there, I'd also be very interested in knowing how the lilacs that were planted actually did.

Comments (19)

• alex_7b
    16 years ago

Try afternoon shade and a lot of lime.

• girlgroupgirl
    16 years ago

There's an article on lilacs in a recent magazine. Once again it states that Miss Kim is the lilac for the South.

GGG

• squirrellypete
    16 years ago

I picked up a discount rack Miss Kim from Lowe's late last summer. As with most of last year's purchases, I didn't think it survived the drought but I saw some new growth a few days ago. Hopefully the cold didn't hurt it too badly. I'm new to growing it so I can't really give you any reviews yet.

Danielle

• turkeytaker
    16 years ago

I've got some unidentified baby lilacs that survived the summer and the drought here. They come from Tennessee, but I wasn't sure whether they'd survive or not. I'd even go so far as to say that they're thriving!

Wish I knew the variety.

• razorback33
    16 years ago

I have grown Cutleaf Lilac (Syringa x laciniata) for about 25 years and it has survived many misfortunes and still manages to bloom each year, although the flowers aren't
    particularly fragrant.

In addition to the the well known 'Miss Kim' & 'Blue Skies',
    there are several hybrid cultivars developed at the Descanso Arboretum (near Los Angeles) that require fewer winter chill hours to produce flowers and are relatively free of diseases & pests, such as powdery mildew and borers.
    'Angel White'. 'California Rose', 'Blue Boy', 'Lavender Lady'. 'Dark Night', 'Sylvan Beauty', 'Chiffon' & 'FK Smith'
    Monrovia Nurseries sells some of them and your local nursery may stock them.