Return to the Georgia Gardener Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Where to buy Obelisks in Atlanta?

Posted by jlt37869 (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 20, 10 at 11:55

Hi! I'm new to Atlanta and I'm looking for gardening structures. Where would I find a good selection of large items such as obelisks, arbors, trellis, etc? I'm looking for the sturdy stuff (maybe wrought iron or mexican metal), which I'm thinking might be at some local (non-chain) garden supply places?!

I have seen a couple of on-line suppliers, but would like to avoid shipping (and also check out in person before buying). Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Jennifer

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Where to buy Obelisks in Atlanta?

Good luck. I've not found a single thing like that. In Elijay we found an antique mall that has some lovely iron work upstairs. Great prices too. But that's it. You can call around to some garden centers, but Pike and Gardenhood don't have them. Maybe call Habersham to see if they have anything?

o

I'm in Marietta. I think this place is still considered Marietta. It's called Rustique and it is on Canton Road.

I have never been in, but there's a lot of merchandise outdoors. It is all metal work -- garden structures, yard art, etc.

Maybe call them and ask if they have what you need? It seems that they would!

Good luck!

o

I have two suggestions. When Lakewood fairground fleamarket closed down a few years ago, I think many of the vendors moved to a new location up Ga 400. I know that there were vendors who specialized in ironwork for the garden there and they may have moved with the market.

Another place where I have seen iron work is the Scott's market in Forest Park. Both of these markets are once a month; I think they used to be on the second and third weekends of every month. You might look them up online and find out if they still have vendors who sell what you are looking for.

o

Hill Street Warehouse just off Collier Road west of 75 has some interesting stuff - but it is not cheap!