Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mamiof4

New to gardening and I think I have grub worms

mamiof4
14 years ago

Hi everyone I am a newbie and wanted to start a vegetable garden in my backyard. I was prepping the area I want to put the vegetable garden and I saw some grub worms. I really have no idea what they are but my mind immediatly went to the Japanese beatle but they could possibly be the June bug grub or really anthing else, I have no clue. I don't really know where to go from here. Does anyone know how I should treat the area or what I should do next? Any suggestions are welcome. Thank you!

Comments (14)

• Iris GW
    14 years ago

Japanese beetle grubs are usually in grassy areas as they feed on grass roots over the winter. They are generally pretty small (as grubs go).

If this area is not grassy, they are likely another type of beetle grub and my personal opinion is that you don't need to do anything with them (I do kill japanese beetle grubs that I find in the grass such as when I am edging my lawn - if you have a pond, fish love them).

Beetles are beneficial bugs (except for the japanese ones as far as I'm concerned) and can be left to go along their merry way. Remember that each bug has a job to do and that killing too many of one may result in other bugs not being kept in check. This may not apply to beetles, but when it comes to predator insects, killing them means that what they prey on can have a mini population explosion ....

So when you say you found some, how many did you find in a what size area?

And welcome to the forum, by the way!

• mamiof4
    Original Author
    14 years ago