Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kathgrace_gw

Scented Suggestions

kathgrace
15 years ago

Newbie here! We finally installed our fence - the rub? I'm feeling like I live in a shoebox. I'm eager to plant (pretty much a blank slate aside from the grass) and specifically am seeking suggestions for great scented options. Ideally they'd be evergreen, but I am open to everything you are willing to share!

FYI:

I have gardenia growing on the exposed side of the house. They have done exceptionally well due in part to the shade the house offers. I do not see them doing well in the basically full-sun backyard.

I am more than moderately obsessed with Tea Olive, and will be on the hunt for those.

3 of my neighbors' back yards face mine, so evergreen screen options to soften the fence and distract the sightline are welcome.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Comments (8)

• gamecock43
    15 years ago

I have several Jasmine vines growing on my chain link fence. This will be my first year with them in bloom...but my neighbors said Jasmine smells incredible.

• frannyflowers
    15 years ago

Hi Kathgrace, tea olives are my favorite scent for an evergreen.

I also like my Thuja Green Giants. They are evergreen and have a wonderful fresh Christmas-y scent when you brush against them.

And Pink Dawn Viburnum is one of my favorites for a deciduous shrub. In the winter they get clusters of pretty pink flowers and fill the yard with a heavenly scent. I also have a couple of Prairie Fire Crabapple trees that smell great in the Spring. I also have several types of butterfly bushes that smell nice during the summer. I especially like the Pink Delight, they grew really fast (to about 5 feet in the first year) and you can smell them across the yard.

• laylaa
    15 years ago

Personally I like Calycanthus floridus - Sweet Shrub foliage is aromatic as well as the flowers, but they do like a bit of shade from what I have heard. Mine gets a good deal of sun and is happy.