Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plants4meuc

Biggest Pet Peeves

plants4meuc
16 years ago

Ok I was just wondering what are your biggest Pet Peeves that other gardeners or nongardners do that just make you crazy.

I'm no expert gardener by any means (learning every day) but even the easiest things that people don't do or do,can rub me the wrong way from time to time.

People who water in the middle of day. With or without a drought. My one neighbor does this all the time. Even when I mention that it really does no good it seems to go in one ear and out the other.

Also those people who never trim their trees. They have these little shoots coming off the bottom of the tree and you say you should really cut those off to help your tree grow. They just smile and nod. But it still looks the same all the time.

I was just wondering if you watch anyone in your neighborhood and feel the same way. Or is it just me. :p

Comments (43)

• quirkyquercus
    16 years ago

Planting flowers in the root zones of trees, mulch volcanos, invasives, overplanteds.... like Willow oaks in under powerlines and putting crepe myrtles where a bigger tree should go, crepe murder, bananas.
    :-)

• User
    16 years ago

Speaking of crape myrtles, I see lots of people planting them in much too small of a space and way too close to other things. For instance, planting one within 12 in. of their mail box, and then when it gets fully grown, the mail box is fully enveloped in the tree. Here's another one that gets my goat: planting impatiens, hostas, and azaleas in full, broiling sun. Big box stores are notorious for displaying shade-lovers in the full sun. Then there's the ones gardeners usually mention: pruning azaleas into perfect little balls, daffodils planted in neat little rows, etc.

• nippersdad
    16 years ago