Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rjinga

Bug Control, What do you all do?

rjinga
15 years ago

I am just gearing up for what seemed inevitable last year...BUGS, BUGS, BUGS....

So far, I'm seeing aphids on my asian lillies...and of course BS on my roses (not a bug issue)I"m spraying for the first time tonight...Guess I should go ahead and spray my tom's too...(different spray)

Slugs eat everything...(just got bug getta slug and snail bait...those bad boys are history!!!!

I realize this question may be a pipe dream...but is there ANYTHING that can be done preventatively to stop bugs before they get a foot hold on stuff? I have a BIG garden planned, 50 plus tomatoes...LORD have mercy if they get a cutworm infestation or something worse...I'd have to nuke the place.

Any secret tips? suggestions?

Comments (7)

• girlgroupgirl
    15 years ago

I've been practising IPM or Integrated Pest Management for the last 5 years. No sprays at all. Not even safers soap. Even organic methods will kill the "good bugs". So I allow the aphids to come, and that attracts the ladybugs and lacewings and little baby praying mantises in droves. Later the garden is filled with large garden spiders.
    I do not get much pest damage except of course for the inevitable Japanese Beetles who particularly like to chew up the Diana rose of sharon.

GGG

Here is a link that might be useful: GW's integrated pest management info page

• Iris GW
    15 years ago

And the birds! The birds eat insects and caterpillars and feed them to their young.

• buford
    15 years ago

Don't do anything for aphids. Just squish them off.

• mk87
    15 years ago