Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
landdawg

Horrors! Jap beatles in my Knockouts

landdawg
15 years ago

Is this normal? I was working around in the yard yesterday and noticed some eaten leaves on my Knockouts and upon further inspection, I found jap. beatles. Alot too. I immediately sprayed for them. Its my first year w/ Knockouts. Thanks!

Comments (11)

• stevega
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Knockouts are their first choice in my yard.

• jeff_al
    15 years ago

they seem to love things in the rosaceae family; roses, plums, apples, etc.
    they favor roses over anything in my yard but sometimes feed on my japanese maples, which i have more of than any of the above mentioned.
    you can collect them in a bucket of soapy water. they will drown and this should help somewhat to control the number you will see next summer. can also apply milky spore to treat the grubs that overwinter in the soil.

• satellitehead
    15 years ago

they always hit our knockouts first.

rather than using sprays, which will kill anything that gets near the affected area (including little guys we love, like honeybees), try using a systemic rose protection product like the granules products that Bayer makes. they're readily available at your local chain store of choice - spread the granules around the plant as prescribed, and be careful to water-in if indicated. worked like a champ for us this year.

• jeff_al
    15 years ago

should we not be concerned about bee casualties when using systemics? they are, by design, absorbed into the tissues of the plant so why would it be absent in the pollen and nectar?
    i don't know that all roses are attractive to bees but some "knockout" varieties have the exposed stamens that would be easily accessible.
    they need all the help they can get right now. :-)

• Bumblebeez SC Zone 7
    15 years ago