Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
girlgroupgirl

Dwarf Crepes, have they survived?

girlgroupgirl
13 years ago

Bumblebeez, I think you said you had some dwarf crepes? We tried 3-4 times planting them in the church garden and they died each time. I'm thinking of some at home, but I wanted to know, did you (or anyone else) like them, like their habits, like the size and ease of culture?

Comments (17)

• Bumblebeez SC Zone 7
    13 years ago

I don't have any but there are some planted near by at a Wal Greens that I have been admiring for several years. They are red violet in color and about 3' high.

• nwgatreasures
    13 years ago

I have the Acoma dwarf crepe myrtles and this is my 2nd year. So far, I like them. They are wider than they are high but for the spot they are in, I'm ok with that.

Ever since I read the article that Esh referenced about biodiversity, I'm more conscious about biodiversity and for every *non* native plant I get, I am committed to 3 natives. I was sad to learn that crepe myrtles are not native :(

Dora

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    13 years ago

I'm really surprised that you are having problems with dwarf crapes. Your climate is different than ours here in TN, but I thought GA was prime crape myrtle territory. I haven't had any problems growing them here in multiple locations and various conditions (exposed locations, near brick walls, full sun, mostly sunny, somewhat poorly draining soil, etc). So far as form/habit/size goes, it really depends on the cultivar. Not all the truly dwarf cultivars form the tight, multi-branched, little buns that seem to be the more common form.

• rosiew
    13 years ago

My neighbor's was so great looking, I planted two here in Sugar Hill 3+ years ago. They're growing really well.

• girlgroupgirl
    Original Author
    13 years ago