Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ollierose

Winter Vegetables

ollierose
15 years ago

I'm planning to grow a lot of winter veggies this year and want to know what all can be grown here in Atlanta over the winter.

I'm planning all kinds of greens and onions. Will gourds, squash (spaghetti, butternut, etc), turnips and collards grow then too? What about garlic, potatoes and beans? Any others that I should consider growing?

Thanks!

Diana

Comments (16)

• georgia_transplant
    15 years ago

This is my first year gardening, but from what I've learned, it is pretty common in our area to grow garlic over the winter. I plan on planting it myself. (When it cools down, I also plan on trying onions, lettuce, spinach, carrots, broccoli, cabbage and cauliflower, starting from seed in a shady place or planting seed directly in September/October.)

I haven't done any research on the gourds, turnips, potatoes , beans or collard greens, though. I would think you might be able to grow some of them here in the fall and winter - we seem to live in such a great place for veggies!

• girlgroupgirl
    15 years ago

All squash and beans are warm weather vegetables. Potatoes can be grown in late summer to harvest in later fall but will fail if the ground gets too cold and wet. You can plant more again in spring.