Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
esh_ga

Yellow jacket time of year

Iris GW
14 years ago

I was reminded rather painfully yesterday that this is the time of year when yellow jacket nest building is going on. When digging, be alert for signs of yellow jackets flying around the ground and especially for any visible hole with activity. If you are not digging or disturbing the ground, I don't think they bother with you unless you are right at the hole, but I am no expert.

If you dig near a nest (which is in the ground), they will sting you. My experience (and this is my second episode in a few years) is that after the first one stings you, others will follow - literally! Yesterday they followed me quite a ways, not a swarm of them, but enough to keep stinging me as I went. I got 8 stings in all! I did manage to kill a few of them on the way ....

So, be careful! They especially like to build nests where there are pieces of old wood/logs, but that is not a sure thing.

Comments (12)

• mkrkmr
    14 years ago

Too late! I was got yesterday, too. I decided to clear the English ivy from another section of the backyard (a long slow project). I was using a mattock to skim the top of the ground and break up the vines a bit before pulling them up. I went right over the top of the nest. Luckily I had on long sleeves and pants. Only three stings, all of them when I was a couple hundred feet from the nest. I think they hitched a ride on my clothes, instead of chasing me so far, but I'm not sure...

• vicki7
    14 years ago