Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ally99_gw

Where to buy and when to start fall garden

ally99
13 years ago

Hey everyone! I'm a newbie gardener living in Athens. I had a very successful summer garden and would like to extend my crop-growing through the fall with spinach, broccoli, and maybe some potatoes. When do you all start your fall planting? Also, where in the world do you find seeds at this time of year? I've looked at Walmart and Lowes and they have nothing but empty shelves.

What are your favorite fall crops?

Thanks a bunch! Like many of you have stated in another post, I'll be VERY glad when the temps cool in a few weeks. This summer has been excessively hot, it seems. Ally

Comments (7)

• bagsmom
    13 years ago

I get frustrated about the absence of seeds in the stores as well! After having an experience like yours, I just learned to buy ALL the seeds I want --including those for the fall season -- in the spring. I just keep them in a dry place and use them when I need them.

That doesn't help you for this year, but it's something to keep in mind when you buy seeds next year!

:)

• girlgroupgirl
    13 years ago

I just mail ordered tons of fall veggie seeds. Look in your local Ace hardware and see if they have Botanical Interest seeds. I'm pretty sure that the rep here in Georgia was going to start in Athens. She stocks as much as she can all-year. For stores that request it, she can manage a 12 months system. But you have to request this extra service. She stocked me 12 months because I had all the winter sowers in the city and teach 12 month gardening...however the store has now gone out of business!
    Home Depot had seeds when I was last there, but they are being kept in a very humid outdoor environment so I would think the viability may be lowered.