Return to the Georgia Gardener Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to propagate Snowflake Viburnum and Pink Fringe Lorapetalum

Posted by KathyGA_z7 Cumming (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 28, 05 at 21:54

I am interested in trying some propagating-- Snowflake Viburnum and Pink Fringe Lorapetalum. I am assuming both can be done via softwood cutting, I read mention somewhere that I need to take a heel with the lorapetalum. Has anyone successfully rooted either of these? If so can you give a newbie step by step advice? What sort of medium. Can I still root some for in time for the fall trade? I am also hoping to root Caryopteris 'Sunshine Blue' will these three need different methods? I am still pretty new to propagation but I think it is fun. I have done a few hydrangeas and other easy ones like that. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to propagate Snowflake Viburnum and Pink Fringe Lorapetal

I've rooted lorapetalum by scraping the underside of a limb and anchoring it to the ground with a rock. It layered quite easily that way.

Down here in Florida, we take semi-hardwood cuttings and use the liquid type rooting hormone, which is more successful with rooting shrubbery cuttings.

o
RE: How to propagate Snowflake Viburnum and Pink Fringe Lorapetal

I have had a hard time propagating most viburnums by cuttings and I am not familiar with the Snowflake, but the other responder was right about layering a branch on the ground. If you can keep it moist, you may have roots before the trade.