Return to the Georgia Gardener Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
First time gardner here: Advice please

Posted by organicnew2gardening 7 (My Page) on
Sun, Sep 19, 10 at 15:16

Hello all!! I am embarking on planting my first garden. I would like to start off with some carrots and spinach for the fall.

Where is the best place to get my seeds?
When should I plant them?
Anyone recommend a great book for beginner gardeners?

My husband and I built a raised bed garden last weekend and are excited to put something in it. Again, this is my first time so if I ask tons of questions, my apologies in advance. Let me know if I need to supply any more info.

I am so EXCITED!!!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: First time gardner here: Advice please

Spinach is a bit difficult in the fall here. Especially since it is so hot and dry right now. Go ahead and grow it, but do not be discouraged if you struggle. Plant your carrots now in very good loose soil. A short variety is best. They take a long time to mature and will be ready in the spring for your eating pleasure. Quick short crops are lettuces and radishes if you want to taste your success sooner rather than later!
Whole foods, and some Ace hardware stores have seeds that have been held indoors in air conditioned spaces. A few big box stores have seeds but they are sitting outside in heat and humidity with really effects germination.

o

Thanks for the advice! So should I plant the carrots now or wait until the spring?

o

Nope, you can surely plant carrots now, you can also plant them again in the spring!!! Go ahead and try spinach. On this forum Farmer Dilla recommended Bordeaux Spinach which Botanical Interests has seeds for, they are in Whole Foods, some Ace hardware stores too (and perhaps other places).

Good luck!

o

Thank you so much!!!!!!

o

I would get the Southern Living Garden Book to begin with.
What kind of soil did you put in your raised bed?
How will you water it?
Is it in full sun?
Will rabbits or deer get to it?