Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jbrickm

How late do summer vegetables survive?

jbrickm
13 years ago

This is my first year planting vegetables here in Ga. Morning temperatures are getting lower of late (finally!). I'm wondering how long my tomatoes, eggplants, squashes, pumpkins and peppers are going to last.

Can long time Georgia gardeners share their experiences?

Comments (9)

• bagsmom
    13 years ago

Usually, mine are fine and going great gangbusters till the first frost. Actually, the late summer months are horrible in my garden, then I see a bit of a revival in fall. The summer heat, dryness, and intense sun are hard on my plants. Fall is nice again!

I'd keep a watch on temp predictions. When frost is forecast, you can pick your tomatoes -- even the green ones -- and let them ripen indoors over time. If you put the green ones in a paper sack with an apple, the gas from the apple will cause the tomatoes to gradually ripen. Just keep checking them every few days.

I have never had much luck getting my winter squash to survive and produce -- due to bugs and diseases in July, but I'm pretty sure that a frost doesn't hurt them at all. Just your more tender plants.

Good luck!

• lrvjim
    13 years ago

Virgil Adams once wrote " The challenge in Georgia is not to grow the first tomato, it's to grow the last tomato." With that in mind I have heard people say they put tomatoes on their Thanksgiving table that were picked from the garden.

I've never come close to that in my own garden. By now my tomatoes, squash and beans are long gone. Peppers are the exception. They begin to produce more once the nighttime temps begin to moderate in late summer and early fall. Particularly bell peppers.

• jbrickm
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Some of my winter squash plants (kabocha, winter melon, butternut) survived the SVB onslaught and are growing vigorously now. But they are just starting to flower now, so I hope they can last until they bear fruit.