Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barbs2187

New to gardening...what to do with hybiscus

barbs2187
13 years ago

Hi all. I am new to gardening and new to this site. We purchased our first home in the spring and I've started my first flower gardens, veggie gardens, etc..

I found on the internet how to get my roses ready for winter but I can't find anything on my Hybiscus..Does anyone know what I need to do to prepare them for winter.

I live in the Canton area if this helps!

Thanks so much and I look forward to getting to know you all :o)

Comments (4)

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    13 years ago

Barbs,

We need to know what species (or type) of hibiscus you have. Species like Hibiscus syriacus (rose-of-Sharon, althea, etc) or Hibiscus moscheutos (swamp mallow, rose mallow, etc) should be completely hardy anywhere in GA, and wouldn't require anything other than maybe a general garden cleanup to remove spent debris. Tender species, like Hibiscus tiliaceus (Sea rosemallow, cottonwood hibiscus, etc), would have to be brought inside. Some species are borderline hardy, and might require a mulch cover or some other type of protection. Do you know which hibiscus you have?

• barbs2187
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thank you so much for your help.
    I saved the cards. I have 4 Painted Lady Hibiscus..
    underneath that name is "Hibiscus rosa-sinensis.
    I hope I don't have to bring them inside as I planted all 4 of them in the ground. They are about 4-5 feet tall.

When you say some are hardy does that mean I need to cut them down and mulch...or just mulch? Sorry I sound stupid..I am clueless :o)...
    But...I'm learning! :o)

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    13 years ago