Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
squirrellypete

Anyone here ever grown Better Boy Tomatoes from seed (F1 gen)?

squirrellypete
11 years ago

I'm new to the concept of growing hybrid tomatoes like Better Boy (F1 generation) from seed and didn't realize until now that the F1 seeds were available to regular hobby growers. I wanted to give greenhouse tomato growing a try in the future and this peaked my interest since I grow these regularly in my garden(from Spring garden center plant stock) as opposed to trying heirlooms I am unfamiliar with. I will also try some heirloom seeds but wanted to learn more about the F1 hybrids if any of my local hobbiests have grown them from seed.

Thanks for any info.

Danielle

Comments (5)

• riceke
    11 years ago

I've grown them both from seed and planted them into the garden. I'm not sure if you are asking if it is a good variety for greenhouse growing or asking about the process of growing from seed. Have you ever grown tomatoes from seed?

• squirrellypete
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hi riceke, thanks for the response.

I have never grown tomatoes from seed (on purpose anyway). I was lurking in the greenhouse forum since my greenhouse is getting close to being put into use and saw this wonderful thread complete with photos on someone's success in growing Better Boys from seed and then training them as vines along a suspended cattle panel in their greenhouse which looks very similar to mine in approximate size, shape, etc...It looked like a real space-saving technique. I have always done well with Better Boys in the garden and just wanted to get some additional takes on growing them from seed, preferably from folks in my neck of the woods.

I have also been conversing with that thread's original poster too and have alot of info to work with. I didn't even know hobby gardeners could grow named market hybrids from seed until I saw her post. Now I'm a little more knowledgeable about F1 and F2 seed generations.