Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mayland_gw

Which shrubs/perennials are still flowering for you?

mayland
15 years ago

I'm interested in getting year-round color from shrubs/perennials, so I'm trying to mix plants that flower at different times, and to include some long-bloomers.

I have 2 Agastaches and a Salvia that have been flowering for months now:

Agastache Tutti Frutti (planted around a Callicarpa Americana that has similar colored berries) (the house covered with ivy is not ours!):

Agastache Coronado (i think, i am not very good at documenting!)

Salvia Black and Blue has a few flowers left (you can just see them behind the Itea Virginica, which is turning red now):

I'm also enjoying how my Abelias look after flowering. The tiny flowers themselves were long-lasting. This is Rose Creek after the flowers have dropped off:

I also have Camellias, Toad Lily, and Tiarella flowering now.

My Echinaceas did not flower very long, but this was their first year and they were very small, so I hope for more next year.

Comments (10)

• Iris GW
    15 years ago

My Salvia greggii is still blooming quite a bit.

• razorback33
    15 years ago

Camellia sasanqua - several cultivars
    Ligularia tussilaginea (syn. Farfugium japonica)
    Tricyrtis hirta (Toad Lily) cultivars
    Aster georgianus (syn. Symphyotrichum georgianum) - Georgia Aster / European Honeybee magnet! (Mt. Cuba Center clone)
    Rb

• Iris GW
    15 years ago

Oh that's true for me too - Georgia Aster. Mayland, I should mail you some seeds for that.

I also have Mexican sage (Salvia leucantha), Turk's cap hibiscus, and Salvia coccinea blooming.

Obviously Salvia as a genus appears to be a good one to have ....

• rosie
    15 years ago