Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mk87_gw

What kind of maple is this...?

mk87
15 years ago

I am not good with distinguishing maples, even based on fall color. I am pretty sure I can recognize a Trident, an Autumn Blaze (only because we have one) and October Glory (they seem to turn earlier than others). But, there are two I am confused by. (I should've posted pix, but will try to do so over the weekend, to support my question.)

The first is in our yard. We inherited it and I THINK it is either Sugar maple or a Florida maple. It, unfortunately, has been the victim of woodpeckers (which means beetles I'm sure) and big construction equipment. But, I am trying to save it. The leaves do a weird thing. They turn a little RED and THEN more of the tree turns yellow. So that the leaves are mostly yellowish with some red on the tips of most of the leaves.

Then there is one that I have seen all over middle GA and up in Atlanta. When it turns, it is almost neon. Right now, in Atlanta is the best time to see it. Parts of the tree (that are in the shade) are usually still green, but the parts that are turning are BRIGHT yellow advancing to BRIGHT orange.

Again, I will post pix this weekend, but does anyone have a clue? (And, btw, go and visit esh's pix on his post...GORGEOUS!)

Comments (7)

• Iris GW
    15 years ago

The shape of the leaf will help you somewhat in distinguishing some of these. Red maples have a trident shaped leaf:

A true red maple (not a hybrid) has variable leaf color in the wild (perhaps due to natural hybridization): I have some in my yard that are pure yellow, others have the orange/red colors.

A sugar maple has the leaf shape associated with the Canadian flag emblem (5 lobes versus 3 on the red):

The sugar maple has very orange color with some yellow. A southern sugar maple (I have found) is all yellow with no orange.

The Freeman hybrids very clearly show the Silver maple parentage in the leaf (more of a scalloped, lacy look to my eye):