Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katharine_atl

need advice for front yard tree

katharine_atl
15 years ago

Greetings. I am new to the plant world and have been doing a lot of research. I need a tree for my front yard to screen a portion of my one story house which is less than ideal (converted porch- non conforming-- in historic neighborhood). I live in Atlanta, zone 7b.

The yard:

bright morning and afternoon sun

6 feet above street level (on high side of street)

red clay

small

no other trees in yard

neighbor has mature persimmon tree nearby

The house:

1 story bungalow

Ideal tree:

=lightly screens but does not obliterate street-view of porch

=relatively short (10-20 ft I reckon)

=relatively narrow (8-10 ft I reckon)

=actively green/blooming for as long as possible

=Not super-pink

=hearty/drought tolerant/forgiving

=gets to maturity relatively quickly

My research indicates that Burgundy Cotton Crepe Myrtle, Arapaho Crepe Myrtle, and Fringe Tree (chianthus retusus)might be good choices. However, I have learned that they do not produce leaves until very late in the Spring. And Arapaho is not always reliably red.

Even thought a flowering tree would be great, I would be very open to an evergreen tree if it's not prickly. Goal is to lightly screen street view of porch portion of house, but not block it completely. If the branches are thin and are nude much of the time, might defeat the purpose.

Any advice very welcome! I would like to plant the tree in January 2009.

-Kat

Comments (9)

• Iris GW
    15 years ago

My first thought is to consider Anisetree and prune it into tree form. I have two in my yard and they are rapid growers but the stated maturity is 20 feet. It appears to be technically considered a shrub, but it is a large one.

One potential downside is that it wilts in temps below 32 but it quickly perks up once the temperature rises. I have not found that to be an issue.

It is easily pruned and shaped; very forgiving in that regard.