Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenbrier517

How cold is too cold?

greenbrier517
14 years ago

I planted Turnips this year for the first time. I waited a month too late to plant according to my chart. I was wondering what is the lowest temperature that turnips can stand. Saturday night it is expected to be in the high 20's here where I live in Georgia. Will I need to cover them up or will they handle the cold just fine. This is my first year will a fall garden so I am still learning.

Thanks

Comments (11)

• girlgroupgirl
    14 years ago

Throwing a sheet over them to keep the actual frost off should be enough. That's my normal plan of attack!!!

• lrvjim
    14 years ago

Turnips are very cold hardy and can stand a frost. Temps in the high 20's should not hurt your turnip greens, as a matter of fact many people say that the flavor of turnips and collards is improved, or 'sweetened' by a light frost.

• greenbrier517
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks!!!

If they can make it through this weeks frigid temperatures then they should be okay.

• cyrus_gardner
    14 years ago

Forget about "frost", we have been seeing temperature drop
    to 15F. We have had freezing nights for the last week or so and there seems to be no end at sight. Throwingblanket is not going to help.
    To me this year so far(January i.e.) has been the coldest persistantly for so long around here. Amazingly it has been as cold as the Northeast states even colder here.
    This is a joke, I don't believe in global warming. hehe.

• girlgroupgirl
    14 years ago

Cyrus, you are right.
    I don't believe in global warming, I believe now that we are causing unpredictable global extremes. Which I believe is even worse. Very frustrating to people trying to grow food!

• cyrus_gardner
    14 years ago

Lets count our causualties now. Do you have any?

I have a few; My chinese/korean big radishes are gone.