Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blessedbe_gw

Rose care (total newby)

blessedbe
13 years ago

I've owned my house for almost 4 years. The elderly lady who lived there previously had three rose plants growing. They weren't doing spectacularly, but they were making it. I don't know what kind they are...they're not tea roses or bushy ones, just the regular red kind. They do have a smell so they're more like old fashioned roses, though not single petaled. Two get full sun in the backyard along a fence and the other one gets morning sun against an easterly facing wall. I tried to train the few shoots on that one to a rose trellis, but it never worked. It now has one long, thin shoot that is now about 10 feet tall and doubling over. Should I cut it back down to the ground and start again? The two in the back have had problems with the black spots for the last couple of years. I did what I read online and cut off all the areas that were affected. There are no spots on it now, I'm not sure if there will be in the spring. Should I prune any of these roses back and if so, how far and when? I am going to check out a book about rose care, but in the meantime I'm just wondering if I should already be pruning. Thanks!

Comments (7)

• Iris GW
    13 years ago

Hi, I don't know anything about Roses, but the UGA CAES puts out good publications and here is one on roses.

Hopefully some gardeners will chime in too. Are you in North Georgia like near Atlanta?

Here is a link that might be useful: Rose culture for Georgia Gardeners

• girlgroupgirl
    13 years ago

You will need to find a book for SOUTHERN rose culture, as we don't do some of the things northerners have to do. The rose forum on GW has some Atlanta rosarians, and you can contact the rose society of Georgia and ask lots of questions.
    When does your rose bloom? All year, or spring?