Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sewnmom

geranium from seed ???

sewnmom7
18 years ago

hi, i just saw seeds of geraniums. has anyone tried these?are they the real thing? any help is so appreciated.thanks ahead,molly

Comments (11)

• cosmokramer
    18 years ago

im new to growing geraniums from seed, but it has worked quite well. All i did was get the seed from the pods, soak them in a wet paper towel for 24-48 hours, then plant them in sandy soil. After about a week, most of the seeds germinated in the greenhouse, and are doing fine. That's all i know so far. ;-)

Soak them, plant them, keep the humidity up, and bingo - geraniums.

• ironside
    18 years ago

This is my second year growing geraniums from seed. I planted them in January, and they are up and getting their first set of true leaves. I water from the bottom, using warm water. Air circulation is very important in having healthy plants. I start them on a heat mat, and once they germinate, they go under a grow light. Air cirulation and watering from the bottrom is very important. Good luck!

• lynnencfan
    18 years ago

I am actually sort of wintersowing geraniums this year. I got the entire Orbit series from Park Seed Company - I started them in their bio-dome inside and as soon as they germinated I put them outside - moving them into an unheated detached garage when temps went below freezing. The last two weeks they have been outside all the time with just a cover when temps go below freezing. I still have every seedling (80 of them) and now they have 3 and 4 sets of leaves and look so healthy. I did move them up to 12oz stryofoam cups when they got their first true leaves....

Lynne

• misskitty_blooming
    18 years ago