Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
crazy_gardner

Spindly Ivy Geraniums

crazy_gardner
18 years ago

Hi! I am new to the computer and these fabulous gardening sights. What is the correct way to over winter a Ivy Geranium?? I get great cuttings from my regular geraniums but my Ivy Geraniums are spindly and weak at this time of year. Should I skip the cutting idea and just give the plants a hair cut? Is there a special technique for getting cutting from an Ivy Geranium?? Thanks! I appreciate the help!

Comments (2)

• caroldiane
    18 years ago

Crazy, you are in a zone 3 area so I'm guessing that the geraniums have been kept going from when you removed them from their garden planting. Now you wish to take cuttings from them......and they are not good candidates in their present state. Probably not....since the taking of cuttings would have been better taken when first removed from the garden.

Cuttings should be taken from healthy speciments...never from sickly plants.
    chances are the plant is in poor health from being given so little winter sunlight. Unless you provided added artificial light, your mother plant may not be healthy enough to provide cuttings at this time.

The plant itself can come back....if it has not gone down hill too far.
    Remove it from what soil it is in now...old soil goes into the compost....or the garbage....not re-used in that form.

Cut the plant back...by 50%...depending on the size of the plant....generally cut it back to about 4" to 6". Inspect the roots, tear them apart so they can be spread out into the new potting soil. Remove all old soil from the roots and remove any and all damaged or weak stems, remove all old leaves.

The pot should have something in its bottom to keep the soil up away from the drainage holes. Then fresh potting soil goes in, make a hole in the center, put the cut-back plant in, firm it up, water it to the point of draining.
    Now give it the best sun you can....west or south....east.