Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dgmarie

Geraniums---red leaves and well water

dgmarie
15 years ago

I have potted several geraniums and the older leaves are turning bright red. I believe this is a type of mineral deficiency. There are currently three small plants to one 16" container on an east-facing deck.

Here are the parameters of my well water:

The well (hard water) is:

iron .909 mg/l

Calcium 60.6 mg/l

Mg 53.1 mg/l

Mn 8 ug/l

Na 16.2

flouride .58mg/l

pH 7.75

Alkalinity 325 mg/l

hardness 370 mg/L

I also own a bag of powdered gypsum which I have to add to an indoor ficus (2T per month) to keep the leaves from curling. I also add vinegar to counteract the high iron levels on the ficus.

I am not a geranium expert and am wondering if you could provide guidance as to how to correct the red leaves? Add gypsum and vinegar to the water as well? I currently use just well water only.

Thank you!

Comments (6)

• sunnfarm3
    15 years ago

The red leaves on your geranium is caused by a phosphate deficiency. Gypsum only adds calcium which your water already has enough of...Do not add vinegar to potted zonal geraniums. Geranium roots emit a substance that acidifies the soil naturally this acid harms the plant over time, your hard water should prevent that... Water your plants with a water soluble fertilizer once a week and they should turn out fine... Bob.

• dgmarie
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Bob

I add calcium because the magnesium calcium balance is out of wack:

from a master garnder: Your well water is to be preferred over your softened water, even though your well water is quite high in Mg (Note how your softener removes nearly all of it?), and plants generally tolerate high Mg levels, as long as the Ca:Mg ratio is somewhere near 4or5:1. It's not, but there's an easy fix. A tablespoon of gypsum on top of the soil will add Ca and help bring the Ca:Mg back in balance.