Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowerchild3

Keep seeds from Geranium?

flowerchild3
18 years ago

I'm new to growing Geraniums. I bought a couple 'seed geraniums' from a local garden center. Can I save seeds from it and plant them? Will they come true to seed? Does 'seed geranium' mean you can grow them from seed? I'm really confused about the different types of Geranium.

Comments (5)

• melrt968
    18 years ago

Hi
    What exactly do you mean by 'seed geraniums'? Are these plants that have been raised commercially from seed? Are you talking about Pelargoniums or Geraniums? If you ar talking about Pelargonium culture I suggest that you do a Google search on Pelargonium culture where you will find many sites that will give you good advice including Geranium (pelargonium) culture for home gardeners.
    There is a great deal of confusion about the differences and similarities between Geraniums and Pelargoniums.

• chrissy752001
    18 years ago

These plants are actually Pelargoniums. But the ones I bought from Home Depot, so we could have different colors, also say "seed Geraniums". I believe what this actually means is that they were grown commercially from seed.

I am not sure if they come true to seed or not. But was going to try them from seed to see. You may want to do that too if you like experimenting. I also plan on taking cuttings from the plant over the fall as these plants are very easy to do that with! Hopefully, for us, there will be many baby plants next spring and no need to buy for the store again. If you look around this forum I am sure you can find instructions on how to do that if you never have. (It's really easy.. honestly the less you fuss over it, the better they usually do.)

I had good luck with this. Just broke off a pieces of plant and stuck it in the dirt and most of the time they grew! :) Kids like messing with the cuttings too. I hope you enjoy these plants. They are fantastic looking, so easy to care for, and fun to experiment with!