Return to the Geranium Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Is it a goner? (Johnson's Blue question)

Posted by SandL 6a KS (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 26, 05 at 16:10

I'm new to hardy geraniums so I need some expert advice.
I bought a Johnson's Blue early last spring and planted it in my whiskey barrell with water retentive potting soil. We had a few good rains which made the whiskey barrell into a boggy mess for a while. Shortly after, I replanted the geranium into a pot until I could get the chance to hammer out the bottom of the barrell. All this time the geranium would get shade until 1:30 and then full sun until evening. It's also looked like it's been on a steady decline since I bought it.
It's been back in the bottomless whiskey barrell for two weeks now. Most of the stems are brown with maybe 7 green leaves left. I've made sure the soil has stayed moist, I've fertilized with Miracle Gro every two weeks and even trimmed it down a bit in hopes of encouraging new growth. It's gone from fairly good sized to a pathetic existance for a plant. What have I done wrong? Should I bother getting another one and starting over or should I wait and see what happens next Spring?

Heather

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Is it a goner? (Johnson's Blue question)

After reading some posts on deadheading and cutting back geraniums I followed the advice and snapped off all the old stems from the plant's base. Surprise of all surprises I'm getting a slew of new shoots ready sprout. Perhaps all is not lost after all.

o
RE: Is it a goner? (Johnson's Blue question)

Heather, sorry no one answered your post, but I am glad you are seeing new growth. Hardy geraniums are tough plants, but you were right, they don't like bogs. I'm wondering, will your Johnson's blue survive over winter in the whiskey barrel? I have all of my hardy geraniums in the ground, so they can go through the proper winter cold spell dormancy that they need.