Return to the Geranium Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need help with an ID on this geranium

Posted by northerner_on Z5A ONCanada (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 25, 11 at 2:26

Hello everyone: This is my first visit to this site, and it is because of this mystery plant. I have been collecting hardy geraniums for a few years, and this one I grew from seed. The seeds were labelled 'Geranium mauve' and it gew very well, sprawled a bit like a ground cover in a shady area, and produced loads of little flowers (which look like geraniums) in late fall, and it also set seed. The fact is that several of these seeds have produced volunteers nearby which I have collected in pots (they looked like columbines when small), and now I realize these are the offspring of the unknown plant. This plant is growing so vigourously in shade, I wonder if it is a weed, but maybe someone on this site can help. Here are two pics. The first one is a close-up of the flower, the second shows the foliage in a 3-inch pot sitting on an old lawn chair, which will give you an idea of the dimensions of the plant. Thank you in advance.
Geranium 'mauve'
Gernium foliage

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need help with an ID on this geranium

I have a similar geranium seedling that I got through a seed exchange labelled G. palustre (which it is NOT). I think it might be G. thunbergii, generally considered a weedy type. The flowers are very small and similar colour to yours. I kept it this year and let it flower, which it is doing now, to try to identify it with some degree of certainty.

o
RE: Need help with an ID on this geranium