Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
susz52

anyone grown regal geraniums from seed?

susz52
19 years ago

Thompson and Morgan offer seeds for regal pelargoniums. Has anyone else tried this? I have a lot of experience growing from seed. I want to start them ealier than I usually would to have more mature plants in the spring. Any ideas? Experience?

Comments (8)

• melrt968
    19 years ago

Hello Susz,
    I have grown pellies from seed on several occasions. I find that in Scotland starting off seed in propagators is no problem but maintaining good light levels is. I do not have horticultural lights. I got better results sowing seed in early Spring (April) when the light levels are better. If you can keep your light levels high then there should be no problem sowing earlier in the year.
    I have five nice plants grown from seed collected and sown at the end of April just after I had cut back the parent plants. I could not find Regal Pellie seeds in T&M's 2005 catalogue. Would you give me the page number please?
    Cheers
    Ron

• susz52
    Original Author
    19 years ago