Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katydid0022

Overwintering

katydid0022
15 years ago

Just wondering if anyone can tell me what I can do to my geraniums to over winter them. I know to bring them inside and put in paper bags, but when do i bring them insdie. WE have not have a frost yet,but expecting our first one this week.

Please let me know b/c I would like to save mine instead of buy new ones every spring.

Comments (2)

• sarahbarah27
    15 years ago

I can't really answer your question, but i have a question!Why the paper bag? This is my first year doing it, but i thought a sunny window would be alright? What is the bags purpose?

• jeannie7
    15 years ago

Katy, here it is late November and I do hope you didn't let your geraniums be touched by frost. Once inside, they are given a place where they are not allowed to freeze or be allowed to grow on if your intention is to overwinter them in the paper bags.

The idea of the bags is to let the plant breathe---be sure to keep the bags open to allow moisture to escape.
    No water, no light, no heat, is given the plants, just darkness, coolness - not below 40ºF - not above 55º - 60º.
    A coldceller, fruit cellar or a cool area of your basement or crawl space is ideal where they are left to spend the winter alone, untouched by water or light or heat.

In the bag, they will dry out...and the bag will catch the debris.

February/March....the sun returns from the south and is the time plants can renew themselves. Geranium is a plant that can renew itself as good as ever----maybe better.

AT that time, bring them out to a well papered table where they are cut back to about 4" - 6"...all old leaves are remeoved. Cut away any damaged or weak stems.
    Compost them.

Into a clean, well draining pot - clay is good--that is given fresh potting soil. Put some material between the soil and the drainage holes--clay shards work wonderful.