Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pinkkpearls

Hardy Geranium help..

pinkkpearls
9 years ago

I am new to gardening in z8b Texas. I had a question about my hardy geranium. I purchased them online, they were shipped in peat moss and had a few sprouts when I got them. I put them in the fridge for about 2 weeks before I planted them. They had about 6 inch very thick roots on them and there was about a 1 inch piece of bark on top. Either way, planted them like 2 weeks ago and they have already sprouted. They are supposed to be planted in Fall to bloom in Spring. Obviously, the frost will kill the growth, but is that okay? Will it rebloom in the Spring?

Comments (7)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    9 years ago

In your zone, hardy perennial geraniums should sail through the winter....some varieties will even retain foliage through the winter. And most species and cultivars will bloom in summer, not spring.

What kind do you have?

• pinkkpearls
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Unfortunately Gardengal48 I am not sure. When i contacted Brecks I was told that it was a super sak ( a bag of 20 plant roots having a number of different varieties and colors) but it would have 3 or more plantings of Cinereum Ballerina, Sanguineum Album, Johnson's Blue, Patricia, Ann Folkhard, or Karmina. Does this help? I know it will be only these varieties though.

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago

Those varieties vary quite a bit in size so it would be worth trying to sort out the different types by eye, even if you don't know their names yet. Once they flower the Name that Plant Forum can help you. I'm not quite clear about why they were put in the fridge. You can plant them straight away and, as Gardengal48 said, winter will not faze them.

• pinkkpearls
    Original Author
    9 years ago

The bag said it could be fridged for 2 weeks if you couldn't plant them straight away:/

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago