Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
crenda53

Pruning Advice

Crenda 10A SW FL
10 years ago

This is my first attempt at growing geraniums (or not?) in SW Florida. The plants are almost 3 years old, in a raised planter with good drainage. They used to get morning sun, but I lost the palm (to ganoderma) that gave them afternoon shade. I have never pruned them.

You can see that there are a few very healthy stems in the group, but most look leggy and gnarly. Those gnarly stems feel almost hollow in spite of have a few leaves at the top. And the good stems are connected to the yucky ones.

The leaves and flowers are much smaller than they used to be as well.

Comments (7)

• Crenda 10A SW FL
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I collected some seed last year and this is one of the plants. It, too, is getting tall with smaller leaves and flowers.

• Crenda 10A SW FL
    Original Author
    10 years ago

And lastly - this is the sad state they were in at the end of summer. I was gone for 3 months helping my mother through chemo, so they were quite neglected - but apparently bloomed well through the summer!

I think those in the pots can be pruned and do well. Do you think the same is true for those in the planter? Would I do better to pull them out and start over - and include pruning in their care?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

• Crenda 10A SW FL
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I'd like to add that I do deadhead regularly. Last summer was an aberration in care. During the summer the plants get plenty of rain water - perhaps too much.

We do not have a dormant winter period here, so I have been fertilizing once a month with MG. This is actually the time of year when my geraniums usually look their best.

• somalenese
    10 years ago

hello Crenda
    i do like your geraniums and to learn that you have been able to survive them in SWFL heat is credit in itself