Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
somalenese

seed collection

somalenese
10 years ago

hi,
i have been growing geraniums since 2 years but have not been able to collect seeds

is it possble for me to collect seeds ?

how can i do that ?

thank you

anurag

Comments (6)

• dowlinggram
    10 years ago

I have grown geraniums for at least 25 years. I have never tried to collect seeds because if I did I know that I would be getting an inferior plant. The only way you can get a plant like the mother plant is to take cuttings. F lowers are pollinated with pollen from many flowers and what you'd end up with from such seed is anybody's guess.

• somalenese
    Original Author
    10 years ago

thanks dowlinggram for the reply

my problem is i live in india and the summers can be really hot here . shade temperatures can reach almost 50degree CELSIUS

i have never been able to make any of my geraniums survive that heat (tried only in pots)

this year i tried harder and made it survive till july but first rain shower and it was dead...

my garden helper keeps telling me that i am fighting a loosing battle and i should throw them in end of may as they reduce flowering and will not survive the monsoon

is it true ?

kindly enlighten me on this , i want to make them survive whole year but till now it is not been possible

i waste lot of cash on buying these every year.
    besides i feel sad when i throw them for composting knowing it is a perrineal and i could not save them

i stay in zone 10
    winter extreme temp is almost 0-10 deg cel
    summer extreme temp is almost 37 - 49 deg cel

thank you again for helping me

anurag

• somalenese
    Original Author
    10 years ago

kindly post a reply

anurag

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    10 years ago