Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
larry_b_gw

Propagate Steptocarpus

larry_b
19 years ago

Hello All,

I have a small streptocarpus that I want to propagate with a leaf cutting. I'm a little worried about the mother plant. I was not able to get any of the stem as you can see. I was wondering how you experts think would be the best way to propagate it. Should I just put the cut portion into soil and cover with the dome or cut the spine out of the leaf and bury the leaf portions sideways? What do you all do to get the greatest success?

Thanks,

Larry

{{gwi:830786}}

Comments (5)

• mwedzi
    19 years ago

I'm no expert cuz I've only done this a few times. The easiest way for me is to just take what you have there and stick the whole bottom in the mix. That is, just set the leaf upright in the mix. You could also peel/cut away the sides of the leaves and kinda make a stem out of the center vein. I recently started one of my streps with both of these methods. I took two pieces from one leaf and did one piece the first way and the other piece the second way. They both grew babies just as quickly, but the one with just sticking the whole section as-is in the soil gave the most babies.

There is also the method of cutting along the center vein and getting two pieces from your leaf, then setting each piece lengthwise into the mix. This is supposed to produce the maximum number of babies, but unless you're selling them and you need 50 babies, it seems unnecessary. I lost my cuttings when I tried it this way, though I may have done something else wrong then. The way of doing it I first described seems to have yielded at least 10 baby leaves, so that's enough for me.

Good luck!

• larry_b
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks Nikki!

Larry

• jon_d
    19 years ago