Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wilsonwong_gw

Problems with Episcias!!!

wilsonwong
19 years ago

Hi All,

I am a beginner in Episcia culture indoors. I am plagued with many problems, below are two of them.

PROBLEM 1:

I recently got a magnifying glass to look at the undersides of my episcia leaves.

To my surprise, I found small white to yellowish worm-like creatures on them.

I wonder what they are and how can I get rid of them?

I grow them in my room (the only place where I can grow them in) hence I hope not to be using strong chemicals (insecticides) to kill them.

I have been facing a problem were my episcia leaves get stunted or deformed, I wonder if the worms are responsible for it.

PROBLEM 2:

Below is a link where it shows a picture taken of my Kee Wee from a friend which was affected.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v139/kuehlapis/keeweeproblem.jpg

The edges near the end of the leaf stalk often turn brown and dies off and this can be seen on the bigger leaf. The smaller leaf above the bigger one is showing some symptoms.

PROBLEM 3:

Why do episcia leaves curl up? I have been facing this problem. No mites I have checked? Due to humidity?

Wondering what is wrong, can someone help?

Thanks and regards,

Wilson

Singapore

Comment (1)

• jon_d
    19 years ago

Hi Wilson, I saw your posts on gesneriphiles this morning but it was early and I wasn't awake then. I really am not sure what your problems are so I may only add to the confusion, but here goes: