Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
philpet

how do I grow this plant

philpet
9 years ago

Hi everyone, I am new to this side of the forum:). I got this plant from an old friend, I am asuming its a gloxinia. I have never grow one and would love to keep this one alive.its potted in maybe a six inches pot, you can see the top of the bulb, the plant is wobbly and its potted in regular soil, can someone please advise me how to keep it alive, and get it to bloom also how to get it to not be so wobbly, I grow orchids and I am just figuring out african violets. Thank to anyone who can take the time to explain. Velleta.

Comments (10)

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    9 years ago

Veletta,

It is a gloxinia and you grow it similar to your violets. It needs a bit more light, cooler temps. and higher humidity than do violets but I have grown both together in the same environment.

It grows from a tuber rather than roots and it will require a resting period. Slowly cut down on watering when flowering ceases and the leaves begin to yellow. Store in a cool place during dormancy. Growth should start on its own in late winter. Re-pot and gradually start watering again. Use the same mix you use for your violets.

Leaves are prone to rot so avoid wetting them.

Linda

(Why didn't you come to the violet forum and ask me??? ;) )

• philpet
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hi linda, lol I thought because it wasn't an african violet then I would hav to ask the qustion here lol, my bad. So should I leave it as is, until after it blooms or should I repot it, its in regular soil and should I stake it for the wobblinss, I just want to b sure it will servives, oh and I am so happy I found you here too. :). Vellta

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    9 years ago

Velleta,

I wouldn't re-pot it until the next growth period. Has it bloomed yet on this growth cycle?

These plants can get wobbly. I would either use a small stake or add some soil up to the bottom leaves if there is room.

Linda

• philpet