Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
themorningstar

Newbie to Micro-Mini Sinningia

TheMorningStar
11 years ago

Hello everyone!

On the weekend I purchased my first micro-mini sinningia (white sprite). It is my first time growing anything is this family besides African Violets (which I am relatively proficient at!).

I purchased it from the local Violet/Gesneriad Society Annual Sale, I was told it had a bit of a shock from the night before, it was a bit chilly but that it would perk up once it was put in the right conditions. I moved it into a small jar terrarium and have it in a bright location with little to no direct sunlight hitting it.

Since this is the first time with these wonderful little plants I would love any and all advice on how to care for it. Thanks!

Below are a few pictures.

Comments (8)

• irina_co
    11 years ago

I love them too.

My arrangement is also a similar vase for a terrarium but I keep them under fluorescent light.

What I am suspicious of - what did you use for soil?
    It should have more perlite to be light and it should be about neutral PH. Soil that has too much peat moss and wood chips goes acid after some time in a humid conditions of a terrarium.

I.

• TheMorningStar
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I used the soil that the plant was in when I bought it. As soon as I can get to the garden centre I am going to pick up some perlite. I was actually a little surprised that it was potted for sale in this kind of soil. One of the violets I bought the same day is in similar soil so I need to switch that one as well.

I would like to find a small grow light system that I could put on my kitchen counter (I don't have a lot of space) to keep the sinningia's under.