Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melanie75_gw

Which type to get?

MELANIE75
19 years ago

I'm new to the gesneriad forum. I usually hang out at the African Violet forum but decided to visit here today. I was wondering, what kind of gesneriad would you guys recommend I get? Currently I don't have any and would like to get one to display with the two violets I have at work.

Thanks!!!

Melanie

Comments (6)

• komi
    19 years ago

Well, I think Episcias go very well with AVs because they are mostly foliage plants (at least I prefer them that way). If you want more flowers, Sinningias and Streptocarpus are other popular ones. There's a huge range, though - you can browse a bit at the linked page.

P.S. If you want any Chirita tamiana seedlings or Rio das Pedras seeds (a micro mini Sinningia), send me an email.

Here is a link that might be useful: Gesneriads.ca Genera page

• KarenMN
    19 years ago

You only want to get one?

You might like Kohlerias, for their bell-like flowers. One of my favorites is K. 'Longwood', which blooms profusely, but it is taller than an AV.

I also like hanging plants, such as Aeschynanthus Radicans and Nematanthus 'Stoplight'.

• larry_b
    19 years ago

Hi Melanie,

One of my favorite gesnariads are columneas. I have one called early bird. It blooms almost constantly.

Larry

• maggie99
    19 years ago

I think that some of the Chirita's may be good for growing at work.... the Episcia's like a lot of humidity and the columnea's look best in a basket *I have Early Bird also and love it* The Kohleria's can be not too pretty if not given enough light, It would be helpful to know the conditions you grow in at work....

Maggie

• MELANIE75
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks for all the responses.

Questions: Where can I purchase any of these? Is it by mail order only?
    (I still need to browse the link from Komi.)