Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rozanne16

light stand

rozanne16
19 years ago

I have recently become pretty interested in growing gesneriads but have to solve the problem of a shortage of light. I would like to build a light stand but have no experience with anything like this. Does anyone have any suggestions on a simple plan for a complete novice to tackle. HELP PLEASE!

Comments (5)

• Leaf_Lady
    19 years ago

A good and inexpensive way is to use the steel utility shelving, or the fancier, shiny chrome steel ones made for storage and garage use.Tthey come in four feet lengths and varying heights also. The shop lights come in four feet lengths and are really cheap at the discount places, easy to find,and easy to get the replacement bulbs for. Adjust the shelving to suit your needs, and mount lights under the shelves, you can mount them to adjust up and down or use them stationary. this is the most economical way that I know of. Good luck. Portia

• larry_b
    19 years ago

Hi Rozanne,

You didn't say what part of the house you wanted to display your gesnariads. If you are thinking about putting it in a living room environment, I can show you what we have done. We bought Baker's racks and installed two foot florescent light fixtures on the shelves. Here are a couple of pictures:

{{gwi:834716}}

{{gwi:834717}}

• rozanne16
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks Larry, your stand looks great! Will be looking out for something similar...how did you connect the lights to the stand? Rozanne

• larry_b
    19 years ago

Rozanne,