Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
natureboinc

episcia

natureboinc
20 years ago

Hey,

I'm just getting into gesneriads. I bought some AV's and an episcia from a nursery a couple of weeks ago. The episcia was un-named, and hasn't bloomed yet. It has started growing already, and the leaves have gotten more color, especially in the young ones. My question is, I just watered it yesterday, it really sucked up a good bit, (peter's fertilizer in the water). The youngest leaves are pretty curly now. The plant still looks very healthy, just the curly leaves. I used tepid water. The only thing that has changed in the last bit, is I moved it over to the other side of the window, where it gets a little stronger light. This is a western exposure, with an extra window screen attached to the inside. It is sitting right on the windowsill. It seems happy, as it responds to the light.

Is the curling leaves a sign of too much light or water?

Glenn

Comments (10)

• AuntieCelene
    20 years ago

My experience would be the change in light--episcias like bright shade, a west window might be a little much for it, especially in the summer. Mine do really well in a North window, though it has no screen.

HTH,

Celene

• greenelbows
    20 years ago

If it's just the light--or even if it's something else--chances are it'll adjust. I inadvertantly left a 'Blue Nile" where the changing of the sun's pattern left it in what I would have thought was too much sun (it's outside for the summer lapping up the heat and humidity) but all it did was to absolutely explode into bloom. It won't be happy inside when it gets cooler without a terrarium, but it sure likes summer in Louisiana! (Full sun at noon! I felt terrible when I realized--but it didn't!)

• mom6nan
    20 years ago

It might do better with more humidity. Spray it every other day for a week or so or allow it to rest on pebbles in water.

Nancy

• episcias
    20 years ago

Can anyone guide me in growing large leaves for blue nile???