Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cabarb_gw

Fertilizer for Streps?

Cabarb
19 years ago

I am new to this strep hobby, and recently received some babies I ordered. Question is...when do I start fertilizing them (they have 2-4 little leaves)? Also, I have seen different recommendations for "strength" of the fertilizer solution. One place says 7-7-7 and another place says 15-30-15.

Comments (8)

• robitaillenancy1
    19 years ago

There are three numbers on ever container of fertilizer. The first number is for healthy, green foliage; the second is for more buds, the third is for general health of the plant. 7-7-7 us a balanced fertilizer which means all parts of the plant are getting the same amound. 15-30-15 favors more blooms.

You want a balanced fertilizer (20-20-20) 1/8 to 1/4 strength to a gallon warm water so they can make strong healthy leaves. Since the flowers stalks come from the strong leaf, use balanced fertilizers most offen. Change types every few months. One leaf can produce as many as 12 bloomstalks, one at a time.

Streps in my experience do not need nearly as much fertilizer as AVs. They do like foliar feeding--putting the fertilizer in the spray bottle and spraying the leaves but don't foliar feed too often--about once or twice a month.

Nancy

Nancy

• Cabarb
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thank you Nancy - that was quite helpful. You mean I can spray the strep leaves (last paragraph of your comments)? I know you don't do that with AV...
    Barb

• jon_d
    19 years ago

I generally feed at a rate of about 1/4 teaspoon of water soluble fertilizer per gallon every time I water (more or less). This is a good safe low dose feeding.