Return to the Gesneriad Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Kohleria Linnea

Posted by mikedahms London Ontario (My Page) on
Sat, Oct 9, 10 at 15:16

I am still new to Gesneriads but have been building a collection over the past fer months. So far I have several Sinningia sp, Chirita and Petrocosmea leaf cuttings, a Kohleria warzewickzii rhizome and a small plant of Gloxinella lindeniana. I also have some seedlings from seed I got from Brazil Plants, Palavania tenufolia, Seemania puprurescens, Sinningia rio das pedras and Sinningia douglasii.

I grow mostly Hoyas and species orchids and I generally stick to growing species vs hybrids when it comes to plants because I just find growing species and learning about them more interesting although some hybrids are quite spectacular in their own right!
This brings me to my question about sp. vs hybrid when it comes to naming. I recently saw a Kohleria Linnea rhizome for sale on Ebay. Because the word Linnea is capitalized I would assume that the plant is a hybrid but the fact that it was named after the Swedish father of modern taxonomy Carl Linnaeus makes me wonder if it is a species or just someone paying homage to Mr. Linnaeus. Does anyone have information on this Kohleria?

Mike

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Kohleria Linnea

According to a 1992 article by L.P. Kvist and L.E. Skog, both of the Smithsonian Institution, there are 19 species of Kohleria. None of them is named K. linnea. Bear in mind this article is now 18 years old and more recent taxonomic revisions may have added this species. The article can be found at: http://www.sil.si.edu/smithsoniancontributions/Botany/pdf_hi/sctb-0079.pdf

Another possibility is that this is a name that was used for a previously described species that had already been given a different name. Rules require that the original name be used and any following name be discarded. Therefore, K. linnaea may be properly called by another name. I have not been able to verify this though.

o